President a true fan and great man

1 year ago By David Watters

Ryman League chairman Nick Robinson has paid a warm tribute to Alan Simpson OBE following the death of the Hampton & Richmond Borough president.

Inextricably linked with the 2015-16 Ryman League champions for over 50 years, the south west London club's late president, pictured, passed away earlier this week aged 87 after a long battle with lung disease. Under his presidency the Beavers cruised through the Spartan League and then the Athenian League before joining the Isthmian League for the first time in 1973.

The club's popular president since 1967, the London scriptwriter was best known for co-creating television's Steptoe & Son and Hancock’s Half Hour. Together with co-creator Ray Galton, the duo were awarded OBEs in the 2000 Honours List for their contribution to British television.

As well as sitcoms, they also wrote TV, film and stage scripts for a host of stars including Peter Sellers, Leonard Rossiter, Arthur Lowe, Frankie Howerd and Les Dawson and in May 2016 were also awarded BAFTA fellowships.

Robinson paid tribute on behalf of the Ryman League ahead of those planned by saddened Beavers officials and their fans on Saturday in front of the Alan Simpson Stand at the Beveree Stadium when they host Margate in National League South.

He said: "Alan was a true supporter of Non-League football and was proud of his days in the Isthmian League. He was one of the first holders of our 25 year merit award and we all have great memories or a great man."

In a statement on their website, the Beavers said: "To many, Alan was Mr Hampton, and following his long standing dedication and devotion to the Beavers which spanned over 50 years, the club will not be same without his presence on match days."

Image courtesy of Hampton & Richmond Borough/Henrietta MacDonald

Follow us: @officialrymanFL on Twitter |

Where next?

Saturday's Transfer List! Player movements registered with the Ryman League from Sunday 5 February to 11am on Saturday 11 February 2017.
First safe hands winners named! Wingate & Finchley's Shane Gore, Ware's Darren Behcet and Horsham stopper Joshua Pelling are the Ryman League's first Precision Goalkeeping Golden Gloves award winners of 2017.

Latest photos

Angels 0 - 2 Leatherhead - 28-4-18
100 photos
2017-18 club awards
11 photos
2017-18 club awards

The Bostik Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.