New season, new structure, new clubs

By Ian Townsend

Football Association announce allocations for revamped Non-League pyramid, and we say goodbye to some old friends- and make some new ones.

It’s the news you’ve all been waiting for! The FA have announced their new structure for the Non-League game, and we have the details (as they affect our League) here. As you will be aware, as well as our Step Three Premier Division, from 2018/19 we now have three divisions at Step Four- Bostik North, South and Central- and a collection of new clubs for you to visit. We also, sadly, lose some clubs who have been with us for many years, and we’d like to wish them all the best of luck in their new competitions.

Bostik Premier Division- Step Three

The Premier Division will be made up of 22 clubs. We welcome promoted AFC Hornchurch, Carshalton Athletic, Corinthian-Casuals (promoted as the best losing Step Four Playoff Finalist on a points per game basis), Haringey Borough, Lewes and Potters Bar Town, as well as welcoming back Bognor Regis Town, Whitehawk and- moved across from the Evo-Stik Southern Premier- Bishops Stortford.

Sadly, we also have to say goodbye to a number of old friends. Playoff Finalists Hendon, along with Harrow Borough, Leiston, Lowestoft Town, Metropolitan Police, Needham Market and Staines Town leave us for pastures new.

The new Premier Division, then, will look like this:

  • AFC Hornchurch
  • Bishops Stortford
  • Bognor Regis Town
  • Brightlingsea Regent
  • Burgess Hill Town
  • Carshalton Athletic
  • Corinthian-Casuals
  • Dorking Wanderers
  • Enfield Town
  • Folkestone Invicta
  • Haringey Borough
  • Harlow Town
  • Kingstonian
  • Leatherhead
  • Lewes
  • Margate
  • Merstham
  • Potters Bar Town
  • Tonbridge Angels
  • Whitehawk
  • Wingate & Finchley
  • Worthing

Step Four- Bostik North, South East and South Central

At Step Four we now have three divisions with twenty teams in each, and welcome a number of new names as well as welcoming back a few we’re more familiar with. Here’s the list:

Bostik League North

  • AFC Sudbury
  • Aveley
  • Barking
  • Basildon United
  • Bowers & Pitsea
  • Brentwood Town
  • Bury Town
  • Canvey Island
  • Coggeshall Town
  • Dereham Town
  • Felixstowe and Walton United
  • Grays Athletic
  • Great Wakering Rovers
  • Heybridge Swifts
  • Maldon & Tiptree
  • Mildenhall Town
  • Romford
  • Soham Town Rangers
  • Tilbury
  • Witham Town

Bostik League South Central

  • Ashford Town (Middlesex)
  • Bedfont Sports
  • Bracknell Town
  • Chalfont St Peter
  • Cheshunt
  • Chipstead
  • Egham Town
  • Fleet
  • Hanwell Town
  • Hayes & Yeading United
  • Hertford Town
  • Marlow
  • Molesey
  • Northwood
  • South Park
  • Tooting & Mitcham United
  • Uxbridge
  • Waltham Abbey
  • Ware
  • Westfield

Bostik League South East

  • Ashford United
  • Cray Wanderers
  • East Grinstead Town
  • Faversham Town
  • Greenwich Borough
  • Guernsey
  • Hastings United
  • Haywards Heath Town
  • Herne Bay
  • Horsham
  • Hythe Town
  • Phoenix Sports
  • Ramsgate
  • Sevenoaks Town
  • Sittingbourne
  • Thamesmead Town
  • Three Bridges
  • VCD Athletic
  • Whitstable Town
  • Whyteleafe

Fixture release date for the new campaign is still to be confirmed (mid July), but the big kick off will be Saturday 11th August. Enjoy the summer!

Where next?

Tanners appoint new manager Leatherhead appoint Sammy Moore's replacement- and he might be familiar to some of you!
Waltham appoint a new head Abbot! Stimson takes holy orders!

The Pitching In Isthmian Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.