FA Cup Round Dates and Exemptions

By Ian Townsend

The FA Cup kicks off on August 6th- with thirty four of our clubs immediately involved

The FA have announced the round dates, prize money and list of exemptions for the 2022-23 competition. Thirty four of our clubs join at the start, whilst the rest of Step Four comes in at Preliminary Round stage with the Premier Division sides joining in the First Qualifying Round.



SEASON 2022-23

Extra Preliminary Round Saturday 6 August 2022
Preliminary Round Saturday 20 August 2022
First Round Qualifying Saturday 3 September 2022
Second Round Qualifying Saturday 17 September 2022
Third Round Qualifying Saturday 1 October 2022
Fourth Round Qualifying Saturday 15 October 2022
First Round Proper Saturday 5 November 2022
Second Round Proper Saturday 26 November 2022
Third Round Proper Saturday 7 January 2023
Fourth Round Proper Saturday 28 January 2023
Fifth Round Proper Wednesday 1 March 2023
Quarter Final Saturday 18 March 2023
Semi Final Saturday 22 April 2023
Final Saturday 3rd June 2023

The following of our clubs will join the competition in the Extra Preliminary Round:

Beckenham Town FC
Chatham Town FC
Gorleston FC
Hanworth Villa FC
Littlehampton Town FC
New Salamis FC
Sheppey United FC
Southall FC
Walton & Hersham FC
Wroxham FC
Ashford Town (Middx) FC
Basildon United FC
Bury Town FC
Chichester City FC
Chipstead FC
Coggeshall Town FC
East Grinstead Town FC
Faversham Town FC
Great Wakering Rovers FC
Heybridge Swifts FC
Hullbridge Sports FC
Hythe Town FC
Lancing FC
Northwood FC
Sevenoaks Town FC
South Park (Reigate) FC
Sutton Common Rovers FC
Thatcham Town FC
Three Bridges FC
Tilbury FC
Tooting & Mitcham United
Westfield FC
Whitehawk FC
Witham Town FC

The remainder of our Step Four clubs will join in the Preliminary Round, the Step Three sides in the First Qualifying Round.

The prize money looks like this:

Extra Preliminary Round winners (208) £1,125
Extra Preliminary Round losers (208) £375
Preliminary Round winners (136) £1,444
Preliminary Round losers (136) £481
First Round Qualifying winners (112) £2,250
First Round Qualifying losers (112) £750
Second Round Qualifying winners (80) £3,375
Second Round Qualifying losers (80) £1,125
Third Round Qualifying winners (40) £5,625
Third Round Qualifying losers (40) £1,875
Fourth Round Qualifying winners (32) £9,375
Fourth Round Qualifying losers (32) £3,125
First Round Proper winners (40) £36,000
Second Round Proper winners (20) £60,000
Third Round Proper winners (32) £100,000
Fourth Round Proper winners (16) £120,000
Fifth Round Proper winners (8) £225,000
Quarter Final winners (4) £450,000
Semi Final losers (2) £500,000
Semi Final winners (2) £1,000,000
Final runners-up (1) £1,000,000
Final winners (1) £2,000,000

Follow the Pitching In Isthmian League on Instagram. Head here or search for theisthmianleague on your app. We're also on Facebook and Twitter.

Where next?

FA Trophy- round dates, prize money and exemptions Premier Division clubs exempt to the Third Qualifying Round- for everyone else, the FA Trophy starts on September 10th
Stowmarket Town add Jacek Zielonka Former Trawler Boy is the latest piece of the Stow puzzle

The Pitching In Isthmian Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.